Raising Hens for your own EGGS

Recently I decided with the recent scares and every rising cost of eggs I would raise my own chickens. Sounds like a good idea right.   Like all things there needs to be some planning and thought put into it.  Well for me I knew I needed a breed of chicken that was a producer of brown eggs and preferably quiet.  

After a few days of thinking on the subject I literally stumble upon the chicken for me.  Blue Laced Wyandotte, taking a quote from the Wikipedia:   The Wyandotte is a breed of chicken originating in the United States. The first examples of the breed appeared in the 1870s. Wyandottes are a docile, dual-purpose breed kept for their brown eggs and for meat. They appear in a wide variety of color patterns, and are popular show birds. The Wyandotte lays pale brown or tan eggs and usually has a white ring of feathers around its neck. Wyandotte hens are devoted mothers. Interesting article so I  will add a link to this site at the end of this blog.

So I right away did a web search for the best places to buy chicks, yes I started with what looked like postage stamps chicks, so cute but they needed work with heat lamps and proper cleaning and a pen.  Anyway,  I choose McMurray Hatchery and placed an order for 15 chicks.  Now I had great success with them they took my payment information but did not use it entil chicks were ready to ship.  They informed me of laws of chicken raising and made diease information available to me.  Plus I was able to have my chicks vaccinated for two types of chicken illness.  I received a gro gel for the chicks which adds in needed nutrients for young babies.   Needless to say my postage stamp chick became beautiful hens in just a short period of time.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wyandotte_chicken     www/mcmurrayhatchery.com

I will be posting actual pictures of my hens as the weeks go by with added information on what I gleam as I go with them.

Leave a Reply

