Olive Salad

I did a blog about salads a few weeks back about using weeds (edible) in your salad for color and interest as well as for taste and extra vitamins.  For now here in Louisiana it is to hot to have many of these flowering weeds so later I can make a salad from one of theses edible goodies.  For now I thought I would share a simple salad that the kids love.

DSC00152 (2)

  • 1 head of iceberg lettuce
  • 1 large tomato either red or yellow
  • 1 bunch of green onions
  • 1 can of drained whole olives

Take your lettuce and wash removing older leaves, make sure that the head is firm, and wash begin to tear leaves into bite size pieces.  Don’t over handle the lettuce as it will turn brown and wilt.  Wash onions, tomato and chop them to desired size.  We like ours to be about medium in size for a more easy to eat salad.  Then add the drained whole olives and toss.  You can add water to the can after draining and drain again to get rid of salt if desire.  You can chop the olives or slice in half length wise and add the salad dressing of choice.  Though this salad goes well with an Italian dressing and on this blog is a good recipe to a homemade Italian dressing.  I keep my olives large for the kids because they love olives but though I did not think I would like it I must say this is a very good and simple salad.

Leave a Reply

