Egcess

Ok so egcess is not a word or is it?  I started this spring raising chicks for my own eggs and well when they were six months old.  No eggs?  The seventh month rolled by and then the 8th and still now eggs, with the exception of the small black hen I had.  Then December rolls around and all of a sudden eggs began to appear everyday.

Egcess!  I now have healthy looking eggs whose shells are a pretty soft tan color, shells are nice a strong but not overly so and the taste is wonderful.  I have been feeding my hens a hen scratch mix from the local feed store Petrus and they love it.  The corn in it keeps them warming when the days get colder also so the food serves a duel purpose.

I do bring them out some vegetables or fruits from time to time and they love the leaves from my tomato plants as I cut them back.

Leave a Reply

