Detached I Think Not

via Daily Prompt: Outlier

This morning I woke up to well again a silent blog and I thought wow being attached to so many sites but not being considered worthy of a notice really wakes you up to what does it take not to be on the outside

I sat with my fingers on the keys and wondered why write?  And as I sat there a poem formed so well why not so I wrote to no one and yet gave it to all.

The morning moved along being business as usual I gave an update on a homeschool project.  Boring perhaps but it has helped the student to see how important one of her projects is.

Then I look and a daily prompt was displayed and what was it on but what I had thought to write earlier but my fingers would not type.  Outlier:  A person or thing situated away or detached from the main body or system.

This made me think.  If my mind had been on this very thought a few hours before but did not write and then someone posted a prompt on this very thing are we ever really situated or detached from the main body or system of the very main stream of life.  Are we not all connected in someway that is both profound and beautiful.  So now I say my blog go unnoticed no matter what I do is ok for I am still connected to you. Detached I think not.

2 thoughts on “Detached I Think Not

  1. Waaaaaaaaay before blogging, I was keeping journals. Personal stuff, odds and ends and so forth. But I was writing things I was thinking about. I was young, but it seemed like the writing needed to come out. I never expected to share it. And its not like it was all too personal or private. Just didn’t think anyone would ever care. And mostly, no one ever has.

    But I looked at things and thought about them and wrote. Not daily, but a lot. Sometimes daily. Sometimes not. Sometimes the thoughts got deep and involved. Sometimes not. But there was a sense of loneliness about it too. I mean, not even an expectation that it would matter to anyone else.

    There was little discipline in it. I did not bother to look up words I couldn’t spell, and there was no spell check whether auto or not. Just pen and paper (in a book). And over time, I filled several of them.

    I always wrote the date of an entry, and usually the place I was writing from. I was something of a drifter, and frequently found myself writing in the mountains of Colorado one day, the beach in California a few days later, or the plains of Texas a few weeks after that. So, I usually added the location too.

    Right now I would have to spend a while searching to find it, but I recall somewhere back there in probably the early 90’s looking up at a full moon that seemed particularly captivating one night. I jotted a note about it. And then I pondered on it. Would I ever meet another person who could verify they were looking at the same moon on the same night at any point in my lifetime?

    Talk about a long shot.

    And in a book that remains closed buried in a box of old junk in a back closet where it has rested for years – and having slipped out of my memory now (the specifics anyway) – the odds are even longer. Makes me feel lonely just thinking about it now.

    In the whatever its worth department… what can I say? I found your post. I read it. I thought about it. It has at least this much impact on me. AND you get this bit of feedback too….

    God bless…

    (I was up and couldn’t sleep after tending to a crying baby…)

    Like

  2. Kaz says:

    Well I think just because we do not always see those or hear from them you can bet there was someone who shared you thoughts on the moon even if there was slightly different points of view. I am astounded all the time on how connected we are in things which is why I love to read or well just plan listen to people.

    Like

Leave a Reply

